Skip to content

Main Navigation

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI)


We in the College of Social and Behavioral Science recognize that diversity and inclusion are necessary for a wholistic educational experience. 

Our aim is to create and sustain a climate where all individuals treat each other with respect and dignity. Only then can we all stretch our minds to places that may feel intellectually unfamiliar, but that excite the mind and lead to new discoveries that benefit societies here and around the globe.

We do not support acts of intolerance against another's race, ethnicity, age, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity and expression, ability, socioeconomic status, veteran status, size, national origin, language, religion or any other real or perceived differences based on an individual's identity.

Video courtesy of the Office for Inclusive Excellence


CSBS Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (EDI) committee

The CSBS Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee is committed to: a) fostering and advocating for cultural transformation with regard to equity, diversity and inclusion, b) offering resources to students, staff, and faculty to foster a more equitable, diverse, and inclusive campus, and c) standing with disenfranchised communities in ongoing liberation struggles for human rights on campus and off.

Committee Co-Chairs

Kyla Welch

Kyla Welch

Programs Mgr. - Anthropology

Rich Medina

Rich Medina

Associate Prof. - Geography

Aaron Flores

Aaron Flores

PhD Student - Geography



Angelina DeMarco, Ph.D Student

Kyla Welch, Programs Manager

CSBS Advancement Board

Shawn Teigan, Research Director at Utah Foundation


Fernando Wilson, Professor

Environmental & Sustainability Studies

Adrienne Cachelin, Associate Professor (Lecturer)

Family and Consumer Studies 

Sonia Salari, Professor


Aaron Flores, Ph.D. Student

Richard Medina, Associate Professor

Health, Society & Policy

Elizabeth Izampuye, Undergraduate Student

Rebecca Utz, Associate Professor

Political Science

Ella Myers, Associate Professor

Sharon Mastracci, Professor


Lisa Aspinwall, Professor


Theresa Martinez, Associate Professor

Student Success Center 

Ally Maringa, Academic Advising Coordinator



Click below if you have an issue that you would like the EDI Committee to addressCONTACT US

Correspondence sent to this address will be received by the EDI Committee Co-Chairs.



Please visit a list of resources, educational materials, articles, and opportunities to GET INVOLVED with Black Lives Matter, put together by the University's Equity, Diversity and Inclusion team as we move forward together as a University and a country.
We are here for you. #ReframingTheConversation

learn more

Last Updated: 10/10/22