Skip to content

Main Navigation

2019 LEAP Scholarship Awardees

U logoThe LEAP program provides first-year learning communities which are small academic courses which meet general education requirements, typically HF, DV, and BF requirements.  Each LEAP course has a peer advisor, embedded librarian and Student Success Advocate.  LEAP courses are related to higher retention and graduation rates, especially for first generation and Pell-Grant eligible students.  LEAP courses are collaborative and interactive and help students build social networks while engaging with students with similar interests.

 Three first—year SBS students will receive the Kumar-Singh Family scholarship.  Erica Medina is a Criminology Major and Cindy Diaz Rey is a Political Science Major.  Nidia Zavala Gonzalez is a pre-Psychology major.  These scholarships were highly competitive.  These students have demonstrated high academic performance, involvement, and we expect them to be leaders on campus. Congrats!



Last Updated: 9/20/19